Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Im a newb when it comes to this design game. I own a website called http://www.recycleconnect.net that I bought but i'm trying to build one for my DJ business. I've been focusing on making it visually stunning and flashy and then i came accross this article I came across this article http://www.associatedcontent.com/art...ps.html?cat=15 & it made me wonder what other designers felt. Do you think this is correct? Is it better to not be so flashy? Im confused now. Please help a newb at this design game out.

Member #
    Liked
    21 times
    All quite true, although given what your site is about, a certain amount of flashiness is appropriate. In general, less is more. The most usable sites out there are the simplest.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

Member #
    I've been focusing on making it visually stunning and flashy and then i came accross this article
    I find the sites trying to be stunning are merely using looks to distract from a generic message and general lack of ideas.

The excuse is the myth that people will buy from the stunning website.

Why Your Site Doesn't Need to be Pretty --- you shouldn't always presume that the most attractive version of your website is the one that will convert visitors to buyers.

There are gimmicks and then there are legitimate reasons for design decisions.

Member #