Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    Liked
    2 times
    I see sellers in forums advertising PSD (Photo Shop Designed) websites. Why is PSD so special? After all Photo Shop is just an image editor not a web creator. I'm confused. Why would you pitch your product based on the photo editor you used?

Member #
    Liked
    718 times
    I think they are more about the graphic images?
    It's just my guess that with PS, the graphics can be saved in such a
    way where they can be resized, vectorized, or whatever the terminology is,
    where the images retain hi-res at any size.

I'm not a graphic designer, but you're right, PS is a graphic editor. They might
    have a feature where you can "slice" images and make some HTML out of it,
    but that sucks ... not a good idea.

But the graphic abilities of resizing, etc. would be the main use for PS?
    So, in summary, they're offering more about the graphics themselves, not the websites?

Member #
    Reason being is because that is where you design websites. It is the industry standard tool to create and design a web layout. The reason is being it is where you save all of your images to put to the web, so it makes sense to design it in that software.

Member #
    Liked
    5 times
    Sites designed in Photoshop then sliced and exported are very common in the design industry. It allows designers to prepare "comps" and easily change them until they fit the client's needs.

For those who sale templates and include the PSD files, I would see that as an advantage for the buyer. The can simply go into Photoshop and replace an image or element they didn't like or wanted to see different then export by slicing out and overwriting the existing image.