Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    This morning I was offered an interview with a company for whom I would be required to produce catalogues, branding and general graphic design solutions.

During the discussion, the employer asked if i had any experience of updating web pages. At present I am in the initial stages of learning Dreamweaver and when I told him this, he said he thought that updating websites through Photoshop was a far more common method, rather than using DW.

I was wondering if anyone would be able to tell me more about this PS method? I have never heard of it, although I must stress that at present I am an absolute beginner when it comes to aspects of web design.

Apologies if I am missing something obvious or this topic has been covered before

Member #
    Liked
    718 times
    What do you mean by "update"?
    There are several ways to edit content, upload files, over-write images, banners, etc.

Member #
    Liked
    205 times
    Photoshop is used to create and update the graphics for websites, including the overall look and feel (PSD templates).

Fireworks can be used to create and update HTML web templates very efficiently and effectively from Photoshop files. It works very well with Photoshop.

Dreamweaver is used to manage individual pages in websites and to create and update their content.

Member #
    miseim - From what I know so far, 'updating' would involve editing text, replacing old catalogue photographs with new and perhaps manipulating banners.

smoseley - From what you've said can I assume that I would either use PS and Fireworks together, or alternatively just DW by itself?