Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    Hi all,
    I'm the lone "IT guy" at a small manufacturing company and I've dabbled a little in web design but I need some help. We have a static website (no interactive features) and my boss has asked for me to come up with a way our customers could check on the status of their projects by viewing spreadsheets, get the latest revisions to technical drawings, download documents, etc. Currently our website is hosted at an ISP.
    Any suggestions on a simple way to give a customer their own password and gain access to files they can view and download? I'm not a programmer or database person. Our customers won't need to upload anything, just view and download files specific to them.
    Thanks

Member #
    Liked
    718 times
    What do you mean by "spreadsheets"? How do you do them now?

Basically, this involves PHP and MySQL.
    You would have to hire a programmer to write the code for you.

The important part is who puts the data on the website?
    How often would the online status be updated?
    Is there a person that would be responsible to keep everything updated every day?

If they can't keep the status current, no reason to continue with the project.

What is the format of the "spreadsheets"?
    What is the format and size of the technical drawing files?
    Will someone be spending every day working on the website, updating status, etc.?

Member #
    Hi, thanks for the reply.

I'd be the one updating the website. I do that now, but it's all static, read only, publicly accessible content.