Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    6
    Member #
    21312
    I have a simple HTML/CSS/Javascript website that works completely fine with all other browsers except IE (Go figure right?). Well long story short IE displays the homepage as all black.

    Such as as if you set the website to only have a background color of black and nothing else. It only does this on the homepage and not any of the others.

    I can post the code if needed but I haven't been able to find what is causing this to happen and I have the feeling I'm overlooking something simple.

    Thanks,
    Hunter

  2.  

  3. #2
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,724
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    718 times
    Perhaps if we knew what the URL was, we might be able to see it too?


  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    6
    Member #
    21312
    The code that was throwing IE off with the bug has been taken down and I put an older version up. I will put the site up again for a day to let you guys see it.

    The URL is www.sneedspeedshop.com

    Thanks,
    Hunter

  5. #4
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,724
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    718 times
    Put it back on as "test.html" and then we can go to the URL for the offending page.
    http://www.sneedspeedshop.com/test.html


  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    6
    Member #
    21312
    Alright I have put it up as that link.

    Any ideas so far? I have the feeling it has something to do with the div's and javascript slideshow. It worked for 2 days with IE and didn't change anything then a customer called in asking why our site was all black. Thats when I found out and quickly put up a working one obviously.

    Thanks,
    Hunter


    PS - For that 0 degress does that include wind chill?

  7. #6
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,724
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    718 times
    Your problem is this line at the bottom of your CSS tags ...

    --!>
    </style>

    it should be (no exclamation point) ...

    -->
    </style>


  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    6
    Member #
    21312
    You're right worked great.

    Thank you for your help. I knew it was some rookie mistake I made.

    Thanks again,
    Hunter

  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    6
    Member #
    21312
    Hey,
    Unfortionately im back. This time in IE *Once again not having problems with any other browsers* On certain computer monitor's it jumbles the slideshow and box on the right together. None of the computers at work get this but one and my personal computers at home do not see it either. I checked it out on a friends and he does. If I need to put up the CSS I will.
    Just to be 100% clear it is the home page again.
    Thanks in advance for any help,
    Hunter

  10. #9
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,724
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    718 times
    If you click on the resize tool for your browser (upper right corner) [-][resize][X]
    and then resize the browser window, you'll see that vertical section move around.
    That's because you have it positioned "absolute" somewhere.

    I also see this messed-up tag (in red):

    <!-- Secondary content area start -->
    <div align="right"
    <!-- HINT: Set any div's class to "box" to encapsulate it in (you guessed it) a box -->


    Not only missing the closing bracket ( > ), but also the wrong tag property.

    Should be:
    <div style="float:right;">


    Not sure if that will fix it, but the fact that it seems to be positioned absolute (or relative?) seems to be the problem.

    You have a CSS style sheet file ("default.css"), yet you have some CSS properties
    within the head section of your page. Not sure what those properties are for.


    EDIT:
    I'm not sure how you make your web pages, (by hand, or using Dreamweaver?).
    But if you view your HTML, PHP, etc. using Notepad++ (instead of Notepad), it will
    allow you to highlight </div> (or closing tags) and then it will show you where the
    opening tag is. The same thing for PHP with regards to ( ... ) { ... } brackets.

    This becomes a great troubleshooting tool, because you can find missing (or extra)
    tag problems (like the missing > in the red line above). Also find messed-up nested
    loops when using PHP, missing } parenthesis.

    Here's the free Notepad++ program:
    http://notepad-plus.sourceforge.net/uk/site.htm



    .


  11. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    6
    Member #
    21312
    Hey mlseim,

    Yes I write the code by hand and downloaded that Notebook++. I found out they had their display settings wrong on their computer which made the two things collapse but I was wondering if it showed up alright on your screen?

    Thanks,
    Hunter


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:03 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com