Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    Hello,
    I am new to this forum, and have learned a lot so far. Thanks!

I have met with a client to see what improvements they need for their site. They want a login for distributors. So, when the customer is accepted as a distributor, they will have distributor pricing. So, once they login, their pricing shows and populates the order form.

I am in my second year of school for Web design, and I have no idea where to start with this.

I use Dreamweaver, (if that matters) and have no experience in this. I have been layed off, and REALLY need this job.

Can anyone help me, so I can go to the client and tell him I know how to do it!?

Thanks so much,
    Sheri

Member #
    Well, i can see your problem...

Probably the best way to go is with a prefab CMS that you can use.
    (Think Joomla, Drupal, Wordpress or other)

Install that and you'll have a powerful basis to start with. Next up, make or buy a template. Sometimes these are really complex to build (Joomla for instance) so you're better of buying and modifying something that's allready there. Then put in all the data you want and presto! you've got yourself a website.

The other way is to program everything yourself, but I wouldn't recommend it if you don't know much about (mySQL) databases and PHP.

Member #
    Liked
    723 times
    Sheri,
    So you're telling us that they already have an existing online ordering system?

But you want to alter that script to allow for "distributors" or "wholesale purchasing"?

If they have an existing online ordering system (shopping cart, login, etc), let us know
    what script (or system) they are currently using.

Member #
    shopping cart