Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    So I am a sophomore majoring in Web Design at a university (a brick and mortar one, not online). I've encountered some cynicism, however, from others about how useful such a degree would actually be. I will be learning HTML, CSS, Javascript, Java, C++, PHP, SQL and a few more languages I can't remember at the moment, as well as taking some art , business and journalism courses.

Do you guys think its a waste of money?

Let me just say this - I LOVE designing websites. I enjoy it very much because it allows me to be creative and at the same time useful in some way.The artistic aspect of the major attracts me more than anything (I'd probably be a graphic designer if my university offered it)

However, I am wondering if its really worth the amount of money I'm gonna be paying back in the end (so far I've racked up about $20,000) I would like to work with a company because I would have job security, though I am not against freelancing ( I've thought about starting to make templates and such for money just to gain experience).

I will say that I am somewhat disappointed with my university's program. None of the stuff we are learning is cutting edge really, just the basics. I've also not really learned that much to be honest. I already knew Photoshop, HTML, and CSS before I came here, and in my second year I would have expected to get more in depth with what I am supposed to be doing.

What I'd like to know is : What are the chances of actually acquiring a job with a bachelor's degree in web design? Is the market really something that someone can actually get a job in? What kind of competition and pay can I expect?