Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Thread: which language?

Member #
    hello everyone!
    i am ankur, new to this forum. well i want to make a website, but dont know much , so i need the help of you people out here.

i just know some html, css. i am a good programmer in c++.

well i want to make a dynamic web site, where users can come and register their events, and those events are to be displayed in the home page dynamically, so please guide me what should i start learning. some say php, some go for asp with c#.
    please help me as to what should i start learning.
    it will be a great help.

thankyou

Member #
    You could start with a CMS or content management system such as joomla, wordpress, etc. and to design a template from scratch or faster easier way check out www.cooltemplate.com they also have asp template maker. Thats if you want the "Free way"

Member #
    Liked
    1 times
    Yes, CMS is a good start I also would advice Drupal CMS.

Member #
    what about design in photoshop and converting to html in dream weaver.

etm
    Member #
    If you are a strong C++ programmer, than you should have no issue transitioning to either PHP or ASP.net C# programming.

Its a loaded question as to which way to go. PHP is a language and ASP.NET is an entire library framework. We won't get into PHP frameworks like Zend etc. and complicate the issue further.

Really it comes down to cost, ultimate goals and community. PHP, Apache etc costs virtually nothing, while the Windows technology has higher built-in costs, however, MS has a new Website Spark program that allows you to get the needed ASP.NET development tools for basically nothing if you qualify: WebsiteSpark - Home