Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Liked
    45 times
    I'm designing a website for a client. She is an author that is trying to get her name around. She would like a guestbook so people can leave comments on her website. I don't think this is very necessary, but it's not my call. I have never created a guestbook myself and I'm still learning PHP. Are there any reliable tutorials/programs that could help me out?
    [COLOR=rgb(0, 51, 102)]Student Web Designer[/COLOR]
    [COLOR=rgb(0, 51, 102)]If you thought something I said was helpful. LIKE IT![/COLOR]

Member #
    Liked
    718 times
    Does she know what spammers are?

You can find many guestbooks via Google: PHP guestbook scripts

Most of them have problems of some kind ... no captcha, anyone can comment,
    bots can overload it and crash the site. I suppose WordPress would be the best
    way to really do it ... comments only by registered users, or the admin has to
    OK the comments first. But it sounds like you're not going to do a WP site.

I would recommend that she publish some books for free via Amazon Kindle.
    As people download and read the books, short stories, whatever, they leave
    "reviews" about the book. If I were to write a story and gain exposure, that would
    be the very first place I would publish (Kindle, Nook, Online, etc) ... for free,
    until I became established somehow.

The guestbook will probably only get comments from family and friends, who will
    love the books (of course they will). Fake, untruthful reviews will not to the author
    any good.

DanExcell likes this.

Member #
    Liked
    959 times