Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    I'm a Mac user who's never built a website before and have a couple of questions that will hopefully make it a bit easier to get started.

1. Is there a website that will take me through "baby steps" to building a site?
    2. Is there a website that handles question 1 with video?
    3. Which programs should I use for creating a website that will allow for me to best upgrade/modify the site once I'm more experienced (JAVA, C++, HTML, etc....)? I use computers alot at work and home. I have no programming experience, but am planning to learn soon.

I'd like to eventually be able to build HTML5 and JAVA enabled sites since they seem to be getting widely implemented into sites to allow for mobile cross-platform (iOS and Android) usability. Any other suggestions welcome.

Thanks for any helpful feedback,

Member #
    Liked
    8 times
    1 - I feel like I am relearning how to do a website recently as in the past I built my pages with tables as opposed to CSS, so let me start you off by saying: Don't use tables, learn CSS.
    I have learned a lot from W3Schools.com - VERY VERY useful site!!!
    As far as CSS goes - csszengarden.com is also a great site.

2 - Don't know about video. You could probably do a search for a specific thing and find something?

3 - I use Dreamweaver for my page design, and I think it's a great program. I think a lot of web builders use this.
    I do type all of my code out actually, so you could use a simple text program (I'm new to mac so I don't know the name... textedit?) but dreamweaver will give you a preview of what you're building and point out some things to you.