Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Link classes?

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Fairfax, CA
    Posts
    2,036
    Member #
    28003
    Liked
    126 times
    I think I need to use classes but I'm not sure. Please help me with this:
    on http://shovehost.net/ I have CSS for the nav menu. However, the a attributes also do other stuff. So as you can see the one slider slide that is a link if you click the image it is just black. And the bottom navigational links go all funny when I turn them into links...
    So how do I make so ONLY THE <a href blah blah </a> stuff in the naviational menu does that?
    Because I do not want every link on the site to have a black background around it!
    Thanks...

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member Webzarus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    South Carolina Coast
    Posts
    3,322
    Member #
    27709
    Liked
    770 times
    should change the .nav class to a #nav div


    --------- change css to -----------------------


    [COLOR=rgb(0, 0, 0)]
    Code:
    #nav ul { list-style-type: none; margin: 0; padding: 0; width: 100%; }
    #nav li { display: inline; float: left; }
    #nav a { display: block; width: 166.67px; padding: 3px 0; }
    #nav a:link,a:visited { color: #FFFFFF; background-color: #282828; display: block; text-align: center; font-family: tahoma; font-size: 0.9em; text-decoration: none; }
    #nav a:hover,a:active { background-color: #7A991A; }
    [/COLOR]

    [COLOR=rgb(0, 0, 0)]
    [/COLOR]
    [COLOR=rgb(0, 0, 0)]----------- change html to -------------[/COLOR]

    [COLOR=rgb(0, 0, 0)][COLOR=rgb(0, 0, 0)]<div id="nav"> [/COLOR]


    [COLOR=rgb(0, 0, 0)]This should segregate the link attributes to just the nav, and not be inherited by all <a href> tags on the page[/COLOR][/COLOR]

  4. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Fairfax, CA
    Posts
    2,036
    Member #
    28003
    Liked
    126 times
    Actually George helped me with this he got me a good solution. Put now I've got another problem that he can't figure out.
    Look at the bottom of:
    http://shovehost.net/
    There are supposed to be4 links:
    Home
    Create a forum
    Terms of service
    Contact us...
    yet, they do not all show! However, where they are supposed to be you click they seem to work ok!
    Why?

  5. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Fairfax, CA
    Posts
    2,036
    Member #
    28003
    Liked
    126 times
    and in IE they all show but the placing is messed up!

  6. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Fairfax, CA
    Posts
    2,036
    Member #
    28003
    Liked
    126 times
    Edit: I've made a few changes, now everything works perfectly in IE yet messed up in FF8 and Chrome still?

  7. #6
    Senior Member Webzarus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    South Carolina Coast
    Posts
    3,322
    Member #
    27709
    Liked
    770 times
    they show up in all my browsers ???

    but if you did something similar to what I posted... you'll need to redefine your a link classes ???

    if it's a standard footer...

    I'd create a #footer

    the define all the links in the footer as classes
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Fairfax, CA
    Posts
    2,036
    Member #
    28003
    Liked
    126 times
    the HOME isn't supposed to be like that??? And neither is the slider? I fixed the blackness issues a few versions ago?!?

  9. #8
    Senior Member Ganners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    415
    Member #
    27007
    Liked
    92 times
    Your text for Home is white, just explicitly set a tags to blue and it should show. You really should be using unordered lists to lay it out anyway.
    Mark Gannaway Software Developer

    Recent Experiments
    - Backpropogation Neural Network language solving (http://ann.ganners.co.uk/)
    - Animated image to ASCII (http://google.ganners.co.uk/)
    - 3D Paper Characters (http://cybergame.ganners.co.uk/)
    - Anagram solving (http://roflol.co.uk/)

  10. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Fairfax, CA
    Posts
    2,036
    Member #
    28003
    Liked
    126 times
    Thn again I don't have IE8 to test with

  11. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Fairfax, CA
    Posts
    2,036
    Member #
    28003
    Liked
    126 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Ganners, post: 217727
    Your text for Home is white, just explicitly set a tags to blue and it should show. You really should be using unordered lists to lay it out anyway.
    But why is that one formatted like the ones on top but the other ones aren't? Did I miss a </div> somewhere???


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:15 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com