Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    Hi All,

Hoping you can help, I am interested in learning how to design web sites as an add on skills to my current marketing skills. I work for a web development company but we lack the skills of a web designer and I have a natural interest in this area.

I have come across these two courses (shown below) and would be really interested to know which route I should take, I am a complete beginner and only know basic html. Is there a better tool out of the two below and what would be the advantages of each? I would really like to hear from some experts!

Any advice would be a god send.

Thank you in advance!

Natalie

http://training.gbdirect.co.uk/cours...using-microsof
    t-expression-web.html
    Web Site Authoring using Microsoft Expression Web - A 2 Day Course London 895 (+VAT)
    12 Dec 2011

http://training.gbdirect.co.uk/cours...using-dreamwea
    ver-cs.html
    Web Site Authoring using Dreamweaver CS - A 2 Day Course There are not dates scheduled for this course.

Member #
    Liked
    718 times
    Between those two, Dreamweaver.

But I feel that if the others in your company are into web development,
    don't they really need a graphic artist? Unless the other don't ever design
    the layouts ... but still, graphics art would be a big deal.

Because your sites are "developed", I assume the content is all CMS and generated
    dynamically, which puts your actual pages into sort of a "template" or "theme" mode.
    With that, you would be creating your pages by hand ... because Dreamweaver will
    fill-it-up with unnecessary crap. One of the problems with a WYSIWYG editor, is the
    way it weighs the web pages down with useless tags ... and it's difficult to really test