Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    Member #
    Hi,

This is my first time posting on this site, or any webdesign site for that matter. I have learned a little bit about web design here and there but would not call my self anything close to a web designer at the moment.

However I want to design a website to track my hockey pool, with the ultimate goal of running it for others to use. There are various websites available that provide this service but none of them are very good at accomidating pools that are as specific as what I need. This has led me to keep track of most of my pool info on an excel sheet and let another site keep track of the points. I want to build a site that will do it for me, and also be customizable enough to accomodate other peoples custom pools.

Anuways what I want to know is what goes into building a site like these two?
    www.officepools.com
    http://games.espn.go.com/frontpage/sports?sport=hockey (this site you probably have to be in a league to see what it looks like but ideally an interface like this is the end goal, but not a necessity to start out with)

I guess What I really want to know is how hard is it to build a site that can track and cumulate stats like officepools.com does? Thats the main thing I need it to do to start with.

Thank you in advance

Member #
    Liked
    718 times
    You would use a server-side program using PHP and most likely MySQL (for the database).
    I don't know much about "pools", but is this where you pick players from the NHL, like a fantasy team?

And do you have access to a database that has current NHL player and team statistics?

Member #