Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    Liked
    1 times
    Hi guys,

I only use HTML. Yes, I'm a newb. I want to know what program to use(Maybe Dreamweaver?) in order to accomplish the following:

I want to make a site which has template across all pages where they look similar. The main thing I am concerned about is making global changes in the site. Say I have a color scheme of red and blue, for example. Then one day I decide to change that to yellow and blue; I want to make it all reflected in the whole site. Also, if I change the menu or add a menu, I want the whole site to reflect that added change. Now, I have found a way to do this with HTML, but I can't make it look too pretty or curvey like most modern sites. And I'm not even sure HTML can handle things such as slideshow of a few changing pics...

I can learn a new language such as php, asp, or whatever, but honestly, I'd prefer to use a program which can work my goals much faster.

In a nutshell: A program that can help my change my whole site's layout very quickly and cohesively and help me make it look professional.

Thank you all in advance,
    MrD

Member #
    Liked
    770 times
    Dreamweaver can do all that, but if you use the wysiwyg interface, and use the builtin template functions as well as any of the builtin JavaScript stuff, the code generated can get bloated very quickly.

You can also accomplish everything you're talking about with notepad, notepad++, or any other cheap or free editor if you learn some basic scripting language like php or asp, and use the includes function.

Basically build out all the "common" parts in standard HTML and use a single CSS fIle for the design elements. Then start a shell page that calls the "includes" and CSS file.