Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Hello,

I have no experience in web designing. I am coming to you guys for some advice. If I want to create a website similar to this website zocdoc.com what would be the best way to do so? Should I find freelance developers and designers to work on my project? If so, should I start with using freelancers from scriptlance.com?

Basically, I would like my website to function similar to Zocdoc.com. When a visitor comes to my website they can filter our their search criteria by selecting certain categories to narrow down their search. Upon displaying the results, it will show profiles from users that sign up for an account on my website. Sort of like a directory, where it narrows down to specific fields the visitor selects.

How much would a project to create a website like that be? Thank you for your help!

Member #
    Liked
    717 times
    Do you have an existing website yet?
    If not, you'll first need to subscribe to a webhost, and also register a domain name.

This will require PHP and MySQL (for that database).
    Not sure how your current site is set-up, or what your skills are.

It sounds like you need a freelancer? You could try in the Marketing section of this forum too.

Member #
    Yes, I have a domain and website right now. It is currently just a blog and I'm looking to have it redesign with the new idea and remove the blog.

Member #
    Liked
    717 times
    I'll say right now that it will be very hard to install/program a new site
    while your blog is in place. I recommend that you subscribe to a new
    webhost account (with the same webhost), but not a domain name.

Have the programmer create the new site in the new account and use