Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    hey all... new here but I am trying to do some research and opinions on the best way to go about publishing an online magazine on my website.

First let me explain - I am not a web designer or pro at most of the web language - I run a website for my community which is a non-profit club/community and my extent of web knowledge is good 'ole basic HTML and some copied scripts of java for a random slideshow...

that all said, our community runs a monthly newsletter and in turn, a PDF is created and I post a link to a downloadable version on the website. Very simple but now, things are starting to go in a new direction as costs for print and mail are going up and since we are non-profit digital publication might be the best way to go.
    I've done some reading on Flip Book and also PDF magazine but I am still unsure of what the best way to go is.

The newsletter is about 4 or more pages so it's rather on the small side page wise
    In addition to digital publication, we'd also like to be able to have a reader be able to print from the website
    My other question was, does publisher have a print to web feature, does anyone here know?

Thanks if anyone could help me out on this - thanks!!!

Tony D.

Member #
    Liked
    717 times
    If it were me doing this, I would use WordPress. I would purchase a professional
    theme from a company like this: http://www.gabfirethemes.com/category/themes/

Look at the news, newspaper, magazine type of themes ... they are spectacular.

Now ... if someone wants to print, you have a script that pulls the latest articles and
    creates a PDF from that. I don't know why anyone would really need a printed version.