Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Hello

After years of waffling, I decided to give web design another shot. I've been working on a musician friend's website this past year, and I have a mockup done, at least the homepage (incidentally, I'm fairly competent in Dreamweaver and Photoshop, the main tools I've created his website in.)

The funny thing is he doesn't even know I've done the site. Originally, I thought I would do his site for free, but I was later advised by forum members NOT to create websites for friends. So I basically created his website all this time without his knowledge.

Do I tell my friend I've done the site, and do I continue doing it for him?

Another problem is: since I'm just starting out, I obviously have no portfolio -- which means I can't get clients, who generally want to see past work done. How do I start creating a portfolio if I can't get hired to do projects?

Member #
    Liked
    9 times
    Thats where they were wrong. Create the site for your friend, create a site for a few other friends call it charity work, make sure they give you a review, and guess what they will talk about how amazing you were at it, and continue telling others, other musicians will go to his site, you will start getting customers. Show him the site, and give it to him for free. You will start seeing a client base form once you have created just a few sites.