Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    Liked
    3 times
    Hello,
    I am a newbie to web design. I made my page 1696 x 1438. You guys looked at it and said I needed to take it down a notch. Now its 1280 x 800 which is popular I hear. I just got done redesigning it in photoshop. When I preview it it doesnt fill the page. So What do i do to fill the page? Do I make it 1920 wide and simply center the middle? How do i make it so when the user opens the page big it will stretch, but if the page is small the center will be what the user sees as opposed to the topo left of the page?
    BTW
    You guys really helped me last time thanks!

Member #
    Liked
    205 times
    1280 x 800 is a popular monitor resolution. Best size for most websites is 960 wide. Centering the site is popular (look at this site as an example of how to do that).

Member #
    Liked
    205 times
    PS - LOL @ the title of this thread. I wasn't sure whether I'd find a spammer's post inside or a legit question. LOL.

Member #
    Liked
    959 times
    One good way is as Moseley said, design 960px wide and center the page. Another way is creating a fluid design. The short of it is that you use percentages for many of the sizes, and center the page. You can even take it a step further and use media queries to adjust the position/size of elements as the user's browser window shrinks.

Regarding the fluid design, here's an example. Say you want the content to remain 90% of the width of the browser window, but never get smaller than, say 600px.
    The easiest way to accomplish this is to wrap the whole thing in a div, like so:
    HTML Code:
    <div class="wrapper">
    [I]CONTENT[/I]
    </div>
    Then, set the CSS like so:
    Code:
    .wrapper{