Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Thread: Getting Started

Member #
    Hi all, i am very new to building a website. Other than taking a class for web design in highschool (8 years ago) i have no knowledge of what im doing. Ive been looking around here and on other sites to find a good way to get started, i.e, what programs to use and what not. Im very good with learning computer stuff, im just not sure where i should start.

What i want is a business website where people can order and browse mailing services and other services in the printing/mailing industry. The first help site i started looking at was telling me i could get a professional website with photoshop and visual studios 2005(all that was needed was Master Pages?). Is this the best way to go for doing what i want? I know how to register a domain (godaddy.com) and to host it using a site like hostgator. But for actually making the site, i dont really know the best way to go at it. I couldnt find anywhere to download visual studio 2005, only a place to buy studio 2010 for $500+.. Is there a possible way to do everything i want without pay for expensive software?

If im not really being clear what i want i will show you all to a website that i kinda of want to model. This website kinda has a semi sloppy layout imo, but i want to make a website with the same capabilites. intouchtoday.com

So thanks to anyone who takes the time out of their day to help me out here. You can also email me at ellcrizzle@gmail.com. <3

Member #
    Liked
    717 times
    It's most popular to use a PHP script like Joomla, Drupal, or WordPress ... things like that.
    With that, you find a theme layout you like, and then customize the heck out of it.

I only use notepad++ to edit everything by hand.