Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: WTF?

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Fairfax, CA
    Posts
    2,036
    Member #
    28003
    Liked
    126 times
    i figured, everybody makes menus with CSS...
    so, I assumed that drop down menus were made the same way.
    So I Googled: "CSS drop down menu"
    and I found a way to do it and I did it.
    Well it's messed up!
    if you hover over the website or computer tab, it breaks the rest of the inline list...
    http://shovenose.com/
    Yes it's made on WordPress... Don't give me any **** for this I have my reasons.
    Thank you for any insights as to why it's pissing me off like this
    All the best, hope everybodys well,
    and sorry I dont' drop in more often
    -shovenose

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member Ronald Roe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    3,141
    Member #
    27197
    Liked
    959 times
    On Chrome at 1366px wide, the list wraps. That's why the drop downs push everything around. Is that what you're talking about?
    Ron Roe
    Web Developer
    "If every app were designed using the same design template, oh wait...Bootstrap."

  4. #3
    Senior Member Ronald Roe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    3,141
    Member #
    27197
    Liked
    959 times
    Nm, I see. It loads up fine, but as soon as you hover, everything gets pushed around.
    Ron Roe
    Web Developer
    "If every app were designed using the same design template, oh wait...Bootstrap."

  5. #4
    Senior Member Ronald Roe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    3,141
    Member #
    27197
    Liked
    959 times
    Ok, I played around with your CSS and got it working how I suspect you want it to, it just isn't as pretty as you may have liked at this point. Basically, instead of using display:inline to get the horizontal menu, I used float:left, that way it still acts like a block element, but I set float:none on the .submenu class. Then, I gave the li a width and used position:absolute with z-index of 1000 on the submenu to keep it from jacking with your HOME header and the UNDER CONSTRUCTION. It's functional at this point, so you'll just have to play with the numbers to make it pretty. Here's my CSS, ready to copy over yours:
    Code:
    /*
    Theme Name: BlankSlate
    Theme URI: http://tidythemes.com/blankslate/
    Description: The bare essentials of a WordPress theme, no CSS styles added. Perfect for those who would like to build their own theme from scratch or for clients if you're a developer or designer. This theme is clean; valid code, semi minified, no comments, SEO-friendly and 100% open source. One custom menu and one widgetized sidebar to get you started. If you don't know CSS and would like to learn we've prepared: http://tidythemes.com/want-to-learn-css/ and please visit us in the forum for further help: http://tidythemes.com/forum/ - Thank You
    Author: TidyThemes
    Author URI: http://tidythemes.com/
    Version: 1.8
    Tags: custom-menu, featured-images, microformats, sticky-post, threaded-comments
    License: GNU General Public License v2.0 | From TidyThemes: This theme is completely free and open source. You may edit this theme to your hearts content :).
    License URI: http://www.gnu.org/licenses/gpl-2.0.html
    */
    
    .sticky{}
    .bypostauthor{}
    .wp-caption{}
    .wp-caption-text{}
    .gallery-caption{}
    .alignright{}
    .alignleft{}
    .aligncenter{}
    
    body {
    width: 1000px;
    height: 101%;
    font-family: Verdana;
    margin: 0 auto;
    }
    
    li ul {
        display: none;
    }
    li:hover > ul {
        display: block;
    position:absolute;
    z-index:1000;
    }
    #nav{width:100%;}
    ul {
    list-style-type: none;
    margin: 0;
    padding: 0;
    width:100%;
    }
    
    li {
    display: block;
    float:left;
    width:150px;
    }
    
    li .submenu{
    display: block !important;
    float:none;
    width:300px;
    }
    
    #copyright {
    float: left;
    width: 450px;
    }
    
    #themecredits {
    float: right;
    width: 450px;
    }
    Ron Roe
    Web Developer
    "If every app were designed using the same design template, oh wait...Bootstrap."

  6. #5
    WDF Staff AlphaMare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,570
    Member #
    20277
    Liked
    878 times
    hiya - can you let me in your dashboard? Make me an admin user and send me the username and password - i think i can possibly fix this for you in the backend if I can get in.
    Good design should never say "Look at me!"
    It should say "Look at this." ~ David Craib


    http://digitalinsite.ca ~ my current site . . info@digitalinsite.ca ~ my email

    If you feel that someone's post helped you fix your problem, answered your question, or just made you feel better, feel free to "Like" their post. The "Like" link is at the bottom right of each post, along side the "reply" link. And if you are being helped here, try to help someone else - pass it on!

  7. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Fairfax, CA
    Posts
    2,036
    Member #
    28003
    Liked
    126 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Ronald Roe, post: 228167
    Ok, I played around with your CSS and got it working how I suspect you want it to, it just isn't as pretty as you may have liked at this point. Basically, instead of using display:inline to get the horizontal menu, I used float:left, that way it still acts like a block element, but I set float:none on the .submenu class. Then, I gave the li a width and used position:absolute with z-index of 1000 on the submenu to keep it from jacking with your HOME header and the UNDER CONSTRUCTION. It's functional at this point, so you'll just have to play with the numbers to make it pretty. Here's my CSS, ready to copy over yours:
    Code:
    /*
    Theme Name: BlankSlate
    Theme URI: http://tidythemes.com/blankslate/
    Description: The bare essentials of a WordPress theme, no CSS styles added. Perfect for those who would like to build their own theme from scratch or for clients if you're a developer or designer. This theme is clean; valid code, semi minified, no comments, SEO-friendly and 100% open source. One custom menu and one widgetized sidebar to get you started. If you don't know CSS and would like to learn we've prepared: http://tidythemes.com/want-to-learn-css/ and please visit us in the forum for further help: http://tidythemes.com/forum/ - Thank You
    Author: TidyThemes
    Author URI: http://tidythemes.com/
    Version: 1.8
    Tags: custom-menu, featured-images, microformats, sticky-post, threaded-comments
    License: GNU General Public License v2.0 | From TidyThemes: This theme is completely free and open source. You may edit this theme to your hearts content :).
    License URI: http://www.gnu.org/licenses/gpl-2.0.html
    */
    
    .sticky{}
    .bypostauthor{}
    .wp-caption{}
    .wp-caption-text{}
    .gallery-caption{}
    .alignright{}
    .alignleft{}
    .aligncenter{}
    
    body {
    width: 1000px;
    height: 101%;
    font-family: Verdana;
    margin: 0 auto;
    }
    
    li ul {
        display: none;
    }
    li:hover > ul {
        display: block;
    position:absolute;
    z-index:1000;
    }
    #nav{width:100%;}
    ul {
    list-style-type: none;
    margin: 0;
    padding: 0;
    width:100%;
    }
    
    li {
    display: block;
    float:left;
    width:150px;
    }
    
    li .submenu{
    display: block !important;
    float:none;
    width:300px;
    }
    
    #copyright {
    float: left;
    width: 450px;
    }
    
    #themecredits {
    float: right;
    width: 450px;
    }
    Well that made it a little better... but now it's spaced them all exactly the same?
    How do I fix that?
    Thanks!

  8. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Fairfax, CA
    Posts
    2,036
    Member #
    28003
    Liked
    126 times
    Sorry one more thing:
    I added the search thing to the navigational menu. How would I integrate a little search button into the text field?
    Thanks!

  9. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Fairfax, CA
    Posts
    2,036
    Member #
    28003
    Liked
    126 times
    so much for "last thing" I guess...
    I want to keep that colorful background image, however, I want the body part of the site (from nav bar to footer credits) to have a white background with opacity, with rounded corners.

    thanks

  10. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Fairfax, CA
    Posts
    2,036
    Member #
    28003
    Liked
    126 times
    Heylo?
    :help:

  11. #10
    Senior Member Ronald Roe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    3,141
    Member #
    27197
    Liked
    959 times
    Add this to #main:
    background-color: rgba(255, 255, 255, .65);
    border-radius: 10px;
    shovenose likes this.
    Ron Roe
    Web Developer
    "If every app were designed using the same design template, oh wait...Bootstrap."


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:37 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com