Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    Hello everyone, I have a couple questions.

Firstly, i'm just starting out in my pursuit of web designing. I'm curious where the best source of information is that will teach me the basics in a logical manner. I want to learn how to do HTML and XHTML, CSS, and/or HTML5.

I'm not sure which is better HTML4 or HTML5

Also, i have plans to launch a website/domain name in a year or so. I am very geared towards learning this on my own time, and between my school schedule.

Any tips or websites/books one might recommend to help me in my journey?

Member #
    Liked
    770 times
    Http://w3schools.com is a good starting point to get ideas.

Lots of tools and explanations of everything, good resource for reference too if your just starting out

Not every browser supports every HTML5 tag, so focus on the basics, once you have a good solid understanding of HTML, then you can start working on advanced stuff.

Trends are pointing most designers in the proper usage of XHTML and CSS, and you can do pretty much everything crossbrowser with that and a dash of JavaScript.

Jquery if you want more advanced interactivity.

Member #
    Liked
    959 times
    Like Webzarus said, start with XHTML and basic CSS and work up from there. After that, work into HTML5. HTML5 accepts XHTML syntax, so the transition will be easy.
    Ron Roe
    Web Developer
    "If every app were designed using the same design template, oh wait...Bootstrap."

Member #
    Is it rudimentary or inefficient of me to type HTML out myself, or would you guys recommend the usage of Dreamweaver and Microsoft fireworks together?

Member #
    Liked
    770 times
    Starting out, notepad, notepad++ or any free editor.