Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    Hey guys,

I recently started up a website and I'm trying to create something similar to this site:

http://myanimelist.net/

That is, I'm attempting to build a site with similar features.
    -User Profiles w/ customization
    -Database
    -Forums

I have little to no experience so its safe to say I'm a complete noob. IF anyone has tips or advice on how I would even start something like this It would be much appreciated. I've been trying out open source stuff like Joomla but even that I'm not sure how to configure to fit my needs.

Thanks!

Member #
    Liked
    770 times
    So are you looking to setup a forum ? Online community ?

What you're asking for is something that would be nearly impossible to completely explain here in the forums.

But if you provide specifics about what you are trying to do...

There are tons of premade scripts ... Many hosting providers have installers for many of them... But you gotta kinda know what you want... Not really famiar with joomla, but understand it has a pretty large learning curve for inexperienced users...

Wordpress is pretty simple, don't think it has a forum plugin, but you could always load Wordpress for general stuff, and myphp forums ( or any other php forum ) on the same domain .

Member #
    What kind of specifics do you want? The website I linked to is more or less what I'm aiming for in terms of features. It is NOT a blog, or anything remotely similar and I don't want to use Wordpress for that reason. I'm trying to set up something where users can register, make their profiles, customize them, add database entries to personal lists and have forums.

I'm being hosted on iPage if thats any help.

Thanks!

Member #
    Liked
    770 times