Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    Hello guys I am new to the forums and also to web design. ( ? ` )?

I want to create a site like wikipedia, where people can edit pages and stuff.
    Doesn't have to be as big as wikipedia.(?^?)?

What would I need to learn?
    I am a newbie atm finishing my first book on HTML. But I am free 24/7 for at least a couple of years so any harsh suggestion on how hard will it be and what programming languages would I need would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks and I apologize for taking your time ?(?????)?

Member #
    Liked
    770 times
    No apologies needed... And actually a good question...

You will need to know HTML, CSS and php to make a wiki ... ( they are actually pretty simple )...

I'm he type of person that learns from example... I've downloaded prebuilt wiki's before and most of the logic behind how they operate is pretty simple...

The easiest way to learn how to out it together would be to use one that is already working... Break it down into the different functions and to from there...

Once you learn how to code HTML and CSS, the php for the wiki should be simple enough.

Many decent hosting providers actually have at least 1 if not more wiki scripts setup so you can install them with just a couple of clicks of you mouse.

From a development standpoint, you could load WAMP or LAMP on your local machine, install on of the prebuilt scripts ... Just so you can play with it.

Member #
    Thanks a lot webzarus !!! ?*:.?. o(???)o .?.:*?

I will work on PHP now . One last thing if you don't mind, what level of HTML/CSS + PHP do i need to move on creating(editing an existing) wiki site?

Are beginners books good enough? Do you have some book names to see what kind of level I need?