Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Fairfax, CA
    Posts
    2,036
    Member #
    28003
    Liked
    126 times
    I'm helping a friend's mother with a website she made for her client (confusing, I know)...
    http://dwftest.lyndabanks-client.com/index.php
    the original issue was the Dreamweaver drop down menu was too glitchy so I redid it in pure CSS3
    Only a few things I was unable to figure out how to do:
    1. Fix the fap on the right side
    2. I had to put some   in the home and donate links to get it closer to the side. what would be a cleaner way to do this (and it would probably fix issue #1 too)
    3. what would be the best way to add a border-radius to the bottom corners of the drop downs
    4. I swear there was something else I'm forgetting. But good night all and please let me know if you have any bright ideas thanks!

  2.  

  3. #2
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,969
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    760 times
    In this file: _css/navigation.css

    You'll see: width: 930px;

    First try: width: 100%;

    If that doesn't work, increase the 930 until it fits the width of the banner.
    Fireproofgfx likes this.


  4. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Fairfax, CA
    Posts
    2,036
    Member #
    28003
    Liked
    126 times
    But what will that fix? Will I have to set the background to be the image?

  5. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Fairfax, CA
    Posts
    2,036
    Member #
    28003
    Liked
    126 times
    OK Ignore my stupid question in post #3 of this thread. I got it to look very nice now perfect.
    Just still the concern remains on the home page the drop down does not work well because of the image slider and I do not know how to fix that. Any advice would be great.
    Thanks!

  6. #5
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,969
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    760 times
    I don't think it's the image slider that is causing your problem.

    I think there is a tiny gap between the menu and the drop-down section.
    When the mouse pointer hits that gap, it closes the drop-down.
    If you move your mouse really fast (over that gap), it will sometimes work.

    Find out what is causing that gap.


  7. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Fairfax, CA
    Posts
    2,036
    Member #
    28003
    Liked
    126 times
    Do you think that line 23 in navigation.css should be changed to 19?

  8. #7
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,969
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    760 times
    I stand corrected ... the problem must be related to the sliding images
    because the other pages don't have that problem, and they use the same navigation.

    So, I guess we focus now on why the main page has this issue ... sliding images.

    On the main page, remove just the image slider <div> and see what happens.
    Find out which <div> removing or adding, makes the problem come and go.


  9. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Fairfax, CA
    Posts
    2,036
    Member #
    28003
    Liked
    126 times
    Yes, I commented out <div id="stories-home"> and it was fine

  10. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Fairfax, CA
    Posts
    2,036
    Member #
    28003
    Liked
    126 times
    But then I put it back because the rest of it was messed up (the navigation worked though). so the problem still stands thanks so much for trying to help have any more ideas?

  11. #10
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,969
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    760 times
    This is so hard because I can't experiment with it myself.

    So I would leave as much of the image-slider in as possible and try
    to just substitute the slider images with one static image. Find out
    if works with a fixed image that doesn't slide.

    You're going to try to determine if it's a size problem, or a javascript problem.

    By the way, it works perfectly with IE9 ... but is flaky with FireFox.
    Not sure if that is a clue or not.



Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:47 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2021 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com