Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Senior Member RDesignista's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Coconut Tree City
    Posts
    822
    Member #
    30921
    Liked
    123 times
    Hi,

    Here's the example.

    I've just submitted a final version of a site to my client. It's a golf directory. He's telling me that the Map (provided by Mapquest) isn't working on his iPad, but does show up on his iPhone. It's an iframe embed taken directly from Mapquest's site. I chose it over Google Map because Google Map's embed code seems to interfere with some stuff and it is messy as hell.

    I have no idea why it won't work. All it is is an iframe within a table cell. Works fine with older browsers when testing from my laptop.

    -R

  2.  

  3. #2
    Unpaid WDF Intern TheGAME1264's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Not from USA
    Posts
    14,480
    Member #
    425
    Liked
    2784 times
    You can use the Google Maps Javascript API, you know. No iframes, no fuss, no muss.

    Failing that, you could go the CloudMade route...although from my limited experience with it, the tiles can be slow.
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

    If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

    My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

  4. #3
    Senior Member RDesignista's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Coconut Tree City
    Posts
    822
    Member #
    30921
    Liked
    123 times
    Thanks for the link. It's too bad Mapquest wont' work. Such a clean design and clean embed code.

    API documentation is always so confusing for me to look at... esp compared to just copy pasting embed codes. Gotta do what I gotta do though.

    -R

  5. #4
    Unpaid WDF Intern TheGAME1264's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Not from USA
    Posts
    14,480
    Member #
    425
    Liked
    2784 times
    Yes, it can be. But if you take it a small chunk at a time, it's usually a lot easier to deal with.
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

    If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

    My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

  6. #5
    Senior Member Webzarus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    South Carolina Coast
    Posts
    3,322
    Member #
    27709
    Liked
    770 times
    Because iframes are being abused and used to embed 3rd party malicious code, OR so many wannabe's are taking content , using CSS to essentially make the iFrame disappear and trying to present content on their site without giving credit to the content owners. Much easier than site scraping.

    Many modern browsers are dropping support for displaying content using iframes that are pulling info from any site outside of the parent site.

    Google maps embed codes work "wherever" as the embed tags are supported from way back.

    But

    Almost all the "design" aspects of their code can be modified to fit the look and feel of the site it's being used on.

    Never been a fan of mapquest but if you really want to use it... Drop the iFrame and use standard embed code scripting to "embed" their maps instead of using the iFrame.

  7. #6
    Unpaid WDF Intern TheGAME1264's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Not from USA
    Posts
    14,480
    Member #
    425
    Liked
    2784 times
    There are actually legitimate uses for an iframe, albeit very few. The one legitimate use is if you want to show a user a product manufacturer's site without the user leaving yours. Some manufacturers (e.g. HVAC manufacturers) used to make this a requirement back in the day...I don't understand why they would, but hell, if someone tells me to do something the way I would have preferred to anyway, who am I to argue?
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

    If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

    My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

  8. #7
    Senior Member Webzarus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    South Carolina Coast
    Posts
    3,322
    Member #
    27709
    Liked
    770 times
    Quote Originally Posted by TheGAME1264, post: 241773
    There are actually legitimate uses for an iframe, albeit very few. The one legitimate use is if you want to show a user a product manufacturer's site without the user leaving yours. Some manufacturers (e.g. HVAC manufacturers) used to make this a requirement back in the day...I don't understand why they would, but hell, if someone tells me to do something the way I would have preferred to anyway, who am I to argue?
    Yeah, there was a time that was the "de facto" way of including some other sites content on your site.

    Abuse of the iFrame started several years ago, to the point that I think iFrame in IE7 and above only work if the content is on your own site, if you pull data from another domain, it just ignores you.

    I heard but have not verified this to be true with Firefox ( latest 4 versions or so ), and appears the newest version of safari.

    There was also a major exploit involving the iFrame that allowed unpatched windows machines to download and execute malicious code ( suspect why the iFrame was disabled in IE7 )... And they just never put it back.

    With many other available technologies to provide the same effect but safely, it was just a matter of time before all browser engines just stopped allowing iframes to pull data from 3 rd party sites.

    As to why iPhone safari browser works and not IPad. Safari on an iPhone is just a shell ( about 3-4 versions back) of the full blown safari.


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

does iframe work on ipad
,
iframe disappears on ipad
,
iframe not displaying on ipad
,

ipad safari not display content iframe

,
mapquest code for web page not showing up
,
mapquest iframe mobile
,
mapquest will not load in safari
,
why is mapquest so slow on ipad
,
will mapquest work on ipad
Click on a term to search for related topics.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:46 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2021 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com