Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Thread: Pricing

Member #
    Liked
    2 times
    I'm new here, and I'm new to web design as a profession. I've done some design for about 10 years as an amateur, and decided to get some schooling to pursue web design, so here I am. Haha.

I apologize in advance if this topic has been covered at some point already.

I'm curious as to the prices freelancers are charging for sites. I've seen a lot of freelancer websites claim anywhere from $1500-$10,000 for a site, but then you have people on some popular freelance bidding sites bidding $150 for an entire custom ecommerce website.

What gives? Not all of the bidders are US, and I get that outsourcing is cheaper, but c'mon. Even some US bidders are bidding less than $200-$300 for a site. How is this possible? Do they create from scratch, prototype, build, launch on a test server, debug, and all that for such low money?

I'm beginning to wonder if I made a bad decision choosing this as a profession.

Member #
    Liked
    718 times
    You get what you pay for.

You'll soon discover that great sites are made by teams of people.
    So, they do charge $2000-$10000 for a site. But you should see what
    the sites are like. Not only the final product, but the support and
    maintenance as well.

If a U.S. or Indian bidder creates a $200 site, please give us a link to one
    of them. We'll all take a look and decide if it's worth the $200.

In fact, we should all come up with some sites that we actually know what
    the prices were. That would be a great discussion to have on this forum.

Member #
    Liked
    2783 times
    There are a few different angles at play here.