Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Hello all...

I have been out of the business for a bit... I graduated in 2003 and worked many years in boutique firms and stuff... I've always done a little bit of everything... Never really honed in on a specialty... I assume this is pretty common...

However, I've been considering getting back into it again...

Any suggestions on what is required as an entry-level or returning worker? I never got far into CSS, don't know HTML5... I just feel like I would have a lot of catching up to do if I were to get into it again...

Would it be more worth it to decide what I want to do? Like for example, if I wanted to do print and focus more on the artsy side of things... Should I just build up a portfolio in that sense? Is there much of a demand for that? Print? Web? I feel half and half on the web stuff because so much has gone into mobile devices and social networking, which are things that I'm really not interested in...

I always wanted to do something fun in this field, that would coincide well with my music playing and other creative endeavors...

Any input?

Thanks

Member #
    Liked
    2783 times
    I can sum up all of my thoughts on your question in two sentences.

Web designers are pretty much a dime a dozen now...apologies to the pretty picture drawers of the world, but it's the harsh reality of your business.
    Web developers...really good web developers...are a rare breed, and there's a lot of demand out there for a good web developer.
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.