Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Liked
    3 times
    Hi I am teaching myself how to do SEO and I was wondering if there are any good free or cheap SEO programs (like SEO Elite) out there. Currently all I am using is the keyword tool on Google adwords. I don't really have the money to spend $170 on SEO Elite but if there was a cheap one that you would recommend then I would probably buy it (cheap as in under $30). Thanks for your time.
    Im pretty new to web design but I am learning fast. I will help if I can.
    Check out my sites http://www.mediareviewzone.com http://www.iamrobsmith.com

Member #
    Liked
    2783 times
    The best tools, and the only ones worth using, are supplied by the search engines themselves.

Google Analytics.
    Google Webmaster Tools.
    The aforementioned keyword lookup tool.
    Bing Webmaster Tools

Let me use one of the third party tools as an example. I could pick just about any of them, but one should do:

http://www.semrush.com/info/strikespots.com

According to this tool, I receive 204 visitors from the first 20 search results per month. To give you an idea of the actual traffic I receive per month, you would have to add multiple zeroes to that figure. I won't say how many visitors I receive from search results per month, but the fact that it's at least a five-digit figure as opposed to three digits should suffice.

The top five phrases listed for .US? I get traffic from them, but not very much, and not in the top 5.
    The top five phrases listed for .CA? I get traffic from them, but not very much, but only one in the top 5.

The trend line? Yeah, there are peaks and valleys, but the valleys aren't as low as are indicated and they're not in January/February.