Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    i have a web design project that i need some advice on. here's the general breakdown:

1. the front page has a drawn background image with a character animation. character walks onto screen and climbs a tree...
    2. the next page has a drawn background image which includes a bookshelf. there are books on the shelf that are clickable links. i want to be able to switch out the book images and links easily, to update content.

the rest of the site is pretty straight forward. i'm not an experienced programmer, but have built sites in wordpress before. i would like to go through wordpress for this if it's possible. or maybe dreamweaver would be better?

any advice on the best way to go about developing this type of site (what programs to use, etc.) would be amazing. i want it to be able to work across all browsers, including mobile. (i guess older IE browsers aren't such a big deal, but maybe a flash backup for those browsers?)

thank you so much!

Member #
    Liked
    718 times
    The book graphics can be placed over the background image (the bookshelf) using CSS
    to position them however you wish. Do you have something online, like a test site,
    that we can see?

In my opinion, don't use Flash ... If the animated page with the character and tree is
    vital, I guess you'll have to decide how to do it. I wouldn't do the animation if it were me.

You could do the site using WordPress if you want to make it editable by non-tech people.
    But, you need to be WordPress, CSS, PHP, MySQL experienced to develop/customize the theme.

Knowing what the purpose of the site is, who the target audience is, and does it involve
    members registering, or people purchasing things? That information would be nice to know.