Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: PHP Framework

Member #
    Liked
    181 times
    What is the best PHP based framework to get started with? I am new to this kind of thing, so im looking for something simple yet efficient and easy to use. What would you guys suggest?
    Artificial intelligence is nothing compared to natural stupidity -Someone

Design is a funny word. Some people think design means how it looks.
    But of course, if you dig deeper, itís really how it works.
    -Steve Jobs

Member #
    Liked
    718 times
    Not sure what PHP based framework means. Are you talking about something like WordPress or Joomla? Or something that you create yourself?

Member #
    Liked
    181 times
    Quote Originally Posted by mlseim, post: 247691
    Not sure what PHP based framework means. Are you talking about something like WordPress or Joomla? Or something that you create yourself?
    I'm talking about frameworks... Thinks like MVC, Yii, CakePHP.

-Steve Jobs

Member #
    Liked
    39 times
    I've been told CodeIgniter is pretty good. I never dug deep into it, but it contains MVC, it's own ORM, zero config, and other rails-like goodness. At the same time, it's fairly light weight and runs faster compare to other frameworks.

Member #
    Liked
    181 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Kayo, post: 247698
    I've been told CodeIgniter is pretty good. I never dug deep into it, but it contains MVC, it's own ORM, zero config, and other rails-like goodness. At the same time, it's fairly light weight and runs faster compare to other frameworks.
    Ok, thanks! This was one of my mental choices too. After posting this thread I narrowed my search for a good framework down to CakePHP, Yii, and CodeIgniter.