Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    Hey Everybody,
    I'm fairly new to this site, so please pardon me if this is not the appropriate place to post this question...anyway, I'm very seriously considering a new career in web design, and I'm wondering: is this the sort of field in which one can become a professional by being self-taught, or is an actual web design degree necessary for success? I've heard a number of differing opinions on the matter from non-experts in my personal life...I have the self-discipline and drive to go either route, but I'd like to get some input from a few working professionals before I choose a path.
    Thanks for taking the time to read my thread.

Member #
    Liked
    2783 times
    Nah, it's a good spot for it, but a question that gets repeated quite a bit.

If you have the drive, the desire, and the ability to make a go as a developer, you don't need the piece of paper. A designer, however, is a different story...designers are about as common as t-shirt sites.

There are about a million paths you can take as far as design and development are concerned. What do you want to do, exactly?
    mcgroovy and masoomjan like this.
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

Member #