Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    I am planning to make a web interface which would show whether a person is busy or not. A very basic example of the visualization would be traffic lights(Green-when free, Red -when busy). I am a student and it is for my department. We have a big display in the common area and if the design is cool it would be displayed there every time. It should be fun so that people don't get bored seeing the same thing all the time. There are around 20 people on the floor.
    I searched for some cool visualization apis such as goolge charts or google gauge but was not able to get anything which would be fun. Can you please suggest any cool idea which would suit the purpose. It would be nice if there is an existing javascript library that does some cool visualization. If the api doesnt exist then maybe i can make it using photoshop and then adapt it in code.

Please help me out here.

Member #
    Liked
    718 times
    If I had the opportunity to create something for a "public space", or a "common area", I would not use a monitor or screen, I would create something physical, 3-dimensional ... interactive art.

There are some fairly inexpensive ways to connect any browser to a WiFi device like the Electric Imp: http://electricimp.com/

That device with some other electronic parts, plus the physical electrical and mechanical parts (motors, switches, lights, wood, metal, plastic, etc). You have a way to control physical things using WiFi / internet.