Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    I know a lot of HTML but it's all been self-taught and I keep running into these unkowns when trying to make sites that look how I actually want them to.

I want to make my site a minimum of 940 px wide- if the browser is less than this in width, users will have to scroll horizontally.

If the browser is more than 940 px wide however- I want images to appear to "connect" with my header image(show as a full width header) and nav image(show as a full width nav).

Check out the attachment to see what I mean.
    Sean
    Attached Images Attached Images

Member #
    Liked
    770 times
    Honestly, there's a dozen ways to do what you're asking, but I have to ask .

Why 940px ?

What's your max-width gonna be ? I currently run 1 monitor at 1920px, which means I'll have about 500 px border with absolutely no content in it on each side of the 940.

I have a 47" TV hooked to a laptop, but the display is capable of 2680 px wide.. Meaning this content will be a little strip of content in the middle of display.

So, why 940px ?

Member #
    The width of the content doesn't matter, 940, 960, 1000, whatever- I'm just making it for average viewers using normal screen sizes.

What I don't know how to do is use images in my margins(the outer "space" on each side of the main content) to give the appearance of a "full width header/nav/footer". And the key thing here is that I want to use images that don't flex/resize with screen width- as browser size increases, more of the image appears to take up the space. I don't know how to do this but I see it everywhere.

Member #
    Liked
    718 times
    Show us where you see it ... give us a link.
    We can then show you what they did to achieve it.

Member #