Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Senior Member Andrew Yurlov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    1,306
    Member #
    27566
    Liked
    181 times
    Does anyone know how to display actual html (including tags, divs, etc) without affecting the website with it? For example when I try to display html tags like <body> in a website, it automatically counts that as a real tag. How do I make it see it as regular content rather then html?
    Artificial intelligence is nothing compared to natural stupidity -Someone

    Design is a funny word. Some people think design means how it looks.
    But of course, if you dig deeper, itís really how it works.
    -Steve Jobs



  2.  

  3. #2
    WDF Staff Wired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    7,657
    Member #
    1234
    Liked
    138 times
    The Rules
    Was another WDF member's post helpful? Click the like button below the post.

    Admin at houseofhelp.com

  4. #3
    Senior Member Webzarus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    South Carolina Coast
    Posts
    3,322
    Member #
    27709
    Liked
    770 times
    If its HTML, not PHP or asp... Use the <pre> </pre>

    I have a special ASP Script if I'm doing that in asp, even using he pre tags, the asp processor tries to render it as code.

    I'm sure PHP probably has something as well, but if its static HTML the pre tags will work

  5. #4
    Senior Member Andrew Yurlov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    1,306
    Member #
    27566
    Liked
    181 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Webzarus, post: 248204
    If its HTML, not PHP or asp... Use the <pre> </pre>

    I have a special ASP Script if I'm doing that in asp, even using he pre tags, the asp processor tries to render it as code.

    I'm sure PHP probably has something as well, but if its static HTML the pre tags will work
    Thanks! Its static HTML so it works well with the <pre> tags.
    Artificial intelligence is nothing compared to natural stupidity -Someone

    Design is a funny word. Some people think design means how it looks.
    But of course, if you dig deeper, itís really how it works.
    -Steve Jobs



  6. #5
    Senior Member Ronald Roe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    3,141
    Member #
    27197
    Liked
    959 times
    HTML5 has the new <code> tag...
    Ron Roe
    Web Developer
    "If every app were designed using the same design template, oh wait...Bootstrap."

  7. #6
    Senior Member Webzarus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    South Carolina Coast
    Posts
    3,322
    Member #
    27709
    Liked
    770 times
    <XMP> </XMP> also works in some older browsers... And if you want people to be able to easily copy the code... Just create a nice <textarea> </textarea> and dump your code in it... It will retain all your spacing and formatting in this too.

    Actually, I'd stay away from XMP, I think it was only supported by IE and old Netscape browsers.

    I did read somewhere ( maybe wired's link ), use the <pre><code> together </code></pre>

  8. #7
    Senior Member Andrew Yurlov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    1,306
    Member #
    27566
    Liked
    181 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Webzarus, post: 248223
    <XMP> </XMP> also works in some older browsers... And if you want people to be able to easily copy the code... Just create a nice <textarea> </textarea> and dump your code in it... It will retain all your spacing and formatting in this too.

    Actually, I'd stay away from XMP, I think it was only supported by IE and old Netscape browsers.

    I did read somewhere ( maybe wired's link ), use the <pre><code> together </code></pre>
    Lol I literally JUST did that. I created an <areacode> instead of all the other things because most have some sort of problem's with different browsers.
    Artificial intelligence is nothing compared to natural stupidity -Someone

    Design is a funny word. Some people think design means how it looks.
    But of course, if you dig deeper, itís really how it works.
    -Steve Jobs




Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:37 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com