Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Thread: Starting out

Member #
    [SIZE=15px]Hi, I'm just starting to learn HTML and CSS at the moment. Hopefully, I can turn design and web design into a full time job. I'm just after people's opinions on the best path-way to this. I'm using notepad and the minute and designing using a web browser. I'm wanting to learning coding from scratch. What are people opinions on this? I've heard lots of comments on 'beautiful coding' on different sites - Can anyone define this? I think that's it for now... I have an opportunity to build a website for a friend (a simple one-pager) to I want to the best job i can, and then move onto my own! Cheers[/SIZE]

Member #
    Liked
    770 times
    Well, everyone learns differently so what you are attempting is not completely out of the question. The thing is, it can be a long and sometimes frustrating road for some.

Again, everyone learns differently. Some like and need the structure of a classroom to be able to focus, others can read and retain necessary things from books, while others can look at other people's do completed work and deconstruct it. Me personally, a combination of looking at others work and books works best for me.

The only problem I see with your approach is you should have a good basic understanding and grasp of the basics so that you know what you're looking at IS the correct way.

I've deconstructed so many sites over the years that when I see the code I say " what the heck were they thinking when they did it that way".

And this industry is not for everyone. Some struggle with the concepts behind things, some get the basics but never quite get the more advanced aspects of it.