Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Thread: Single Signon

Member #
    First let me be clear, I AM AN AMATUER Web designer. Now here is my situation;
    I am building a multi-application install website. I use wordpress as the main site, Oxwall for my social community, Opencart for my store, etc. The downfall of this from a visitors perspective is the need to sign in multiple times (once for each application).
    So what I want to accomplish is a single sign-on interface. If visitors sign in on one section of my site, they will automatically be logged in on all parts. So does anyone have any suggestions on how to accomplish this? There are a ton of sites online doing this type of thing, so obviously it is possible. But HOW?

Member #
    Liked
    770 times
    On any of the sign-in forms... Just create a simple set a session variable for each one... Then modify your security script ( that checks to see if a user is logged in) to include looking at the session variables.

This can and does work as long as the usernames and passwords are all on the same domain... If you have he different applications on different domains ... It will be tougher, and if on different servers, almost impossible. If just different sub-domains... Completely doable. But you have to know PHP and find each of the login checks... To modify the script to look for the session variable that you set.

Member #
    Liked
    718 times
    Wolf, this is advanced stuff. You've also seen the sites where you can log-in with a FaceBook login ... again, it's very advanced programming. It would be very difficult for us to describe it here as it pertains to your scripts. You may want to hire someone to get you going.

Member #
    Liked
    770 times