Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    I was wondering if a certificate in Web Design is enough to land a full time job at a company. Or are they now asking for a bachelor's? I live in Los Angeles, California.

Member #
    Liked
    878 times
    I think a portfolio is the key ingredient in getting hired. I have a bachelor's in Visual arts, and one in Fine Arts, as well as a certificate in web programming and design, and no prospective employer ever asked me about them. They all wanted to see my portfolio.
    I think in this business it's really a case of "show me" as much as "tell me". This is a visual medium, and an interactive one,and they want you to be able to demonstrate that you have the skills needed for the job.
    I'm going to quote a very smart member of this forum here:
    Quote Originally Posted by Webzarus, post: 226288
    Of all the designers and developers I have interviewed over the years... It's the ones who have portfolios of work that end up getting hired. You gotta figure that if someone really wants to be in this industry they will work their butts off for free or little to no money just to build up a portfolio.
    Would you trust a car mechanic to change your brakes if he showed up in a three piece suit with nothing but a pair of pliers ? And his word that he knew how to do it ?
    This is not to say that if you have a certificate or a degree you should not be including it on your resumé, after all they do show that you are committed enough to pay for and complete a course of study in the field.
    Webzarus likes this.
    Good design should never say "Look at me!"
    It should say "Look at this." ~ David Craib

http://digitalinsite.ca ~ my current site . . info@digitalinsite.ca ~ my email