Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Thread: Greetings!!!

Member #
    Greetings one and all, I am Scoops and yes everyone does calls me that...

Me: I currently work as a mechanical design engineer and have been set a challenge by the Mrs!

Following a discussion with the Mrs the other day that started with, "Your good with computers, I was thinking...", but to cut a long story short I ended up agreeing to having a go at building a web site for my beloved.

And so the brief from the Mrs was this: "Your the Engineer, darling..."

Right then, so the Mrs is a Transcriptionist, I did a bit of a trawl on the tinternet and found this site https://www.uktranscription.com which I think would be a good concept to base on and looks like it has all the functionality on there that she would need to enable clients to upload files, register and set up accounts, file manager, invoices and payments, the works!

Next I found this forum and by the looks of it with all you knowledgeable fellows, may just be my new home for a while and may pester you interweb gurus for a while as I seek to achieve this quest.

So far I have briefly looked at some web hosts that offer features like the web builder facility, that do look tempting and straight forward but don't seem to cater on the face of it with the options that the above website has on it, 1 did offer when contacted that it is a shared platform and has 25 GB which should be sufficient but I have no idea what this means, shared platform? And as was not sure of the lingo could not really specifically ask what I wanted.