Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Liked
    1 times
    I am a newbie to website design/building. I have been maintaining an existing website for a friend and am now creating a new website for my wife who is an author. I have purchased tools like Dreamweaver, Photoshop, After Effects, etc. I have watched many website planning/designing tutorials and have a basic idea on where and how to get started. Now to my question .... my initial plan for the website design is to display a full screen 30 second video clip when the visiter first enters the website and upon completion it would go to a typical navagational syle webpage. I have never seen this on any website and just wondering can this be done? Not asking how at this point just if it can be done.
    Thanks

Member #
    Liked
    2783 times
    You could do it, and it has been done...it's called a splash page.

However, that doesn't mean you should do it. The problem with 30 seconds of video is that it's 30 seconds that the user either has to wait or that the user has to do something to elect to bypass in order to get to the content. I've done it in the past a few times for people, and it has never worked, simply because people lack patience in general.

If you're going to do anything, have the video embedded in the home page along with some content and let people play it if they want to.
    AlphaMare and Marshall like this.
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)