Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member thepaddyman123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    98
    Member #
    22584
    Liked
    2 times
    So I hear Adobe plan on getting rid of fireworks anyone got any views on this.

    I know I started out using fireworks but then quickly got trained in photoshop. However I do sometimes like to use fireworks for creating small png/gif icons etc.

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member Webzarus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    South Carolina Coast
    Posts
    3,322
    Member #
    27709
    Liked
    770 times
    Nope... Haven't used the adobe version ... I still use the macromedia version and it works fine.

    Wondering why it took them so long to drop it... I kinda figured they would drop it almost immediately on acquisition of macromedia.

    No matter, my liscense will work on my current version and what it won't do, gimp can do.

  4. #3
    Member thepaddyman123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    98
    Member #
    22584
    Liked
    2 times

  5. #4
    Member thepaddyman123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    98
    Member #
    22584
    Liked
    2 times
    True, I guess they will be focusing on Photoshop and Edge.

  6. #5
    Senior Member kralcx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    3rd Planet from the Sun
    Posts
    140
    Member #
    20799
    Liked
    18 times
    After nearly 10 years, the company is abandoning its Creative Suite to focus solely on a new suite of Creative Cloud-only apps and services.

    Adobe like many other tech giants are focusing on the 'cloud'; it will make it easier for them when the 'powers that be' take over the web.

  7. #6
    Member celticshinobi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    TN, USA
    Posts
    36
    Member #
    33858
    Liked
    1 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Webzarus View Post
    Nope... Haven't used the adobe version ... I still use the macromedia version and it works fine.

    Wondering why it took them so long to drop it... I kinda figured they would drop it almost immediately on acquisition of macromedia.

    No matter, my liscense will work on my current version and what it won't do, gimp can do.
    Wow, i dont think ive used FW since the Macromedia days...and at that time i used everything they had and loved it. I dont know why, but it amazes me that youre using the old school version.... kind of makes me want to find my old cd and give it a whirl

    Sent from my DROID X2 using Tapatalk 2

  8. #7
    Senior Member Webzarus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    South Carolina Coast
    Posts
    3,322
    Member #
    27709
    Liked
    770 times
    Quote Originally Posted by celticshinobi View Post
    Wow, i dont think ive used FW since the Macromedia days...and at that time i used everything they had and loved it. I dont know why, but it amazes me that youre using the old school version.... kind of makes me want to find my old cd and give it a whirl

    Sent from my DROID X2 using Tapatalk 2
    It shouldn't amaze you, but I also don't do "graphics heavy" sites either. What I learned a long time ago, every program has a learning curve, as long as I have a program that I can "efficiently" do the job with, what sense does it make to "learn something new"... Sure the newer version of "fireworks" has more bells and whistles... But most of those bells and whistles were focusing on the "slice and dice" features... ( which I don't use anyway)... If you ever used the old Dreamweaver MX suite, other than using and being dependant on the "code generation features", why would you pay more, spend more time learning all the new functions ... To do the exact same thing ???

    I guess if you are looking for a job, knowing how to use the "newest software" can be a benefit... But I'm not looking for a job either...

  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    19
    Member #
    36491
    Liked
    2 times
    Adobe hasn't added any many features to Adobe Fireworks anyhow, hence it is fine as it is and merely depends on extensions created by the community. I use it frequently for wireframing and occasionally for designing the actual website, since I usually work with Adobe Photoshop instead. It isn't necessary easier to use, for example setting up the typography, but it has a more fluid working environment in my opinion.

  10. #9
    Member celticshinobi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    TN, USA
    Posts
    36
    Member #
    33858
    Liked
    1 times
    Im not really sure why it amazes me...it does bring back memories of my early days, when i was fumbling around with fireworks 8. It does make sense though ... no need to upgrade and spend money on something if the old product still serves its purpose.



    Sent from my DROID X2 using Tapatalk 2


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:33 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com