Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    Liked
    4 times
    Hey there guys, I'm actually a new website designer trying to get projects, got any tips?

Im actually trying to get work on elance, but im faced with a dilemma every time i apply, these questions always pop up in my head:

1.) Do i need to inform the guy that i am an entry-level programmer?
    2.) I have no idea what clients usually ask programmers to do.
    3.) If its not stipulated whether or not they want SEO, is it a requirement for me to do SEO? or should i just not bother with it.
    4.) Do i need to bid extremely low?

Thanks in advance! any tips would be greatly appreciated

Member #
    Liked
    2783 times
    1) Yes. There's no point in lying about it. You're going to get found out.

2) Depends on the project. If you're a good programmer, then you'll be asked to do all sorts of things, but mostly along the lines of, "I have this problem. Solve it."

3) If you're building the site, you should be working the elements of SEO into the site as you go, as many of the elements of SEO are also design elements (consistent navigation, clean code, proper use of tags and attributes, etc.)

4) If you bid low, you'll find cheap people. The problem with cheap people is that they're among the biggest a-holes on the planet. They figure that because you're willing to do one thing cheap, you'll do everything cheap, and ideally for free. You'll have no one to blame but yourself when you run into these people, either.

So...no.
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.