Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Liked
    1 times
    I'm a very new web designer. I've built a few small sites for myself and designed a few forums for others. I only know HTML and CSS. No javascript or anything. I've put javascript plugins into forums though, but that's about it.

So anyway! How do I price things and how much to charge? Right now I charge by how many pages, how many photos will be used (if I have to photo edit them). I charge for content that I have to write. I have a fixed price for all of them, and honestly it's really cheap. (I'm embarrassed to say how cheap) I've started on Craigslist and I just got my first client so I plan to make my prices higher once I get some portfolio pieces, as I have none right now. I see everyone on Craigslist making websites so cheap, and they have more to offer (like Javascript) than I do! Though honestly I think I could make much more aesthetic and "prettier" designs than them, haha.

I'm just scared if I charge a lot I won't get any business, especially since I'm very inexperienced. Is it okay for me to start off cheap?

So yea, thanks for the help!
    Fireproofgfx likes this.

Member #
    Liked
    2783 times
    Enough to where you're comfortable, but you're not going to get all that much, and here's why...you only know HTML/CSS. Assuming you know it and you know it well (which given that you're new is unlikely in and of itself), that unfortunately puts you in a group of several million people around the world and growing. It's okay if you start cheap as long as you're working with people that will give you raises as your skills improve and you develop that which makes you "you" online...in other words, you can do certain things and possess knowledge no one or very few people do.