Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Can I design a mobile site for ALL phones?

Member #

Can I design a mobile site for ALL phones?

I am designing a mobile site for my client and we intended to do it for the iphone4 and up at 640px by 960px. Is there anyway to design for all of the popular phones right now with one layout, or do I need to design a different layout for each phone like the android, iphone3, iphone5 etc?

I read something about byspoke mobile sites? What is this?

Thanks!

Member #
    Liked
    2783 times
    You're thinking of responsive design. It utilizes several different media queries and stylesheets to present layouts different ways based on the user's screen resolution.

I'm just starting to learn how to do it myself, so I can't really point you in the direction of any good singular resources. But that's the general concept.
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

Member #
    Liked
    18 times
    (RWD) responsive web design is what you need
    Responsive Web Design | Webdesigntuts+
    Responsive Design Newsletter

Member #
    Liked
    770 times
    Funny how a tutorial on responsive design... Is not responsive
    Attached Images Attached Images

Member #
    Liked
    770 times
    Just because it fits in the browser doesn't make it responsive.