Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 5 of 5
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Webzarus

Thread: Little rusty, can I still use CS4 programs to create websites?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    1
    Member #
    36832

    Little rusty, can I still use CS4 programs to create websites?

    I'm a little rusty and am looking to design a website. I have Adobe CS4 programs Dreamweaver, Flash, etc. I was hoping to be able to use these, but I haven't been keeping up with technology for several years and didn't know if I would have to upgrade for any reason to make my website operational. I would appreciate any feedback - thank you.

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member Webzarus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    South Carolina Coast
    Posts
    3,322
    Member #
    27709
    Liked
    770 times
    Shouldn't be a problem... I've never used CS4, but I also don't and haven't used "design view" in many, many years... I still used DW MX... This was pre- adobe acquisition, since I only use code view... The only thing this version is missing is full CSS syntax highlighting ... And no html5 recognition ... But I know CSS enough I don't need the syntax highlighting and auto-complete... And until all browsers support all html5 tags... Don't need that either.

  4. #3
    Senior Member Webzarus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    South Carolina Coast
    Posts
    3,322
    Member #
    27709
    Liked
    770 times
    Btw... If you're using or were using cs4 for slice and dice sites... Yeah... It will still create the bloated, over the top code it used to.
    AlphaMare likes this.

  5. #4
    WDF Staff AlphaMare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,570
    Member #
    20277
    Liked
    878 times
    I mostly use Notepad++, but when I use DW, I use CS4. However, I only use it in code view, or sometimes split if I need to locate something in design view to highlight it for editing in code view. My advice is to never use DW to make your code for you - it will be clunky, bloated, and prone to cross-browser issues.
    Same with Photoshop - I use CS4 but I slice it myself by separating and grouping layers, and never rely on the generated code.
    Good design should never say "Look at me!"
    It should say "Look at this." ~ David Craib


    http://digitalinsite.ca ~ my current site . . info@digitalinsite.ca ~ my email

    If you feel that someone's post helped you fix your problem, answered your question, or just made you feel better, feel free to "Like" their post. The "Like" link is at the bottom right of each post, along side the "reply" link. And if you are being helped here, try to help someone else - pass it on!

  6. #5
    Senior Member kralcx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    3rd Planet from the Sun
    Posts
    140
    Member #
    20799
    Liked
    18 times
    I agree hand code in DW and you will probably be fine using CS4 for a very very long time.


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Tags for this Thread

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:10 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com