Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Question: File Sharing copyright concerns?

Member #

Question: File Sharing copyright concerns?

Hi all,

I'm very new to WDF (As you can see), and I hope to be posting a lot more. So my question is:

I want to develop a "file sharing" website of sorts, I don't want to go into more detail than I need to, but what kind of copyright concerns do I need to have? Is the content uploaded by the user their responsibility or will I be responsible for the content that is uploaded? Let's say some examples of the content I'm imagining are various kinds of college course materials.

I'd appreciate some input so I don't develop an entire site then realize that my whole idea is just a setup for me to get sued or something..

Thanks!

Member #
    Liked
    717 times
    You are responsible for what is contained (all files) in your webhost account.

There is one way around this ... I've seen this done on Free sheet music for piano | PianoFiles ... the members log-in and only list the files that they own. There are no files stored on the site. Members email other members to "trade" files (in this case, it's copyrighted sheet music). The copyright infringements are violated by the members and not by the website owner.

College course materials are probably a lot of copyrighted PDF files ... which could be copies from textbooks? You would have no way of knowing that. There are not only legal issues, but ethical issues as well.

I should finally add that most college students already have their own "social sharing network". They probably would rather do it between themselves than use your filesharing system anyhow.

Member #
    Thanks for the honest reply msleim,