Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By TheGAME1264
  • 1 Post By TheGAME1264
  • 2 Post By AlphaMare

Thread: Web Designing For A Complete Newbie

Member #

Web Designing For A Complete Newbie

So basically, I was robbed of my business idea of a classifieds website from this freelancer I had working for me and Iím never going down that road again. I want to do it on my own. That is the whole idea and I donít know where to start.

I've looked up a list of softwares I will have to learn to use and they are:

Dreamweaver
    Photoshop
    XHTML CSS
    InDesign
    jQuery
    PHP
    Adobe
    Illustrator

I don't know where to start and I figured since I'm getting into this, I'll do it properly and not use any shortcuts.
    Any ideas? I can give this a year with 4 hours of practicing everyday.

Member #
    Liked
    2783 times
    First of all, "Adobe" isn't software. They're a software creator (they created three of the things on your list).

Second, learning several of those things on their own (e.g. PHP, Photoshop) can take up to the time frame allotted, depending on how quickly you learn and what you need / want to know. So you may not have enough time, depending on what you want to do. I'd start with the PHP end of it, since (X)HTML / CSS can be learned in concert with it. HTML5 might be a better alternative, though.

I'm not sure what else to suggest since it depends on exactly what you're trying to do, although the one thing I'll say is that if you just want to build a generic classifieds site don't bother. It's been done to death, the corpse has been reanimated, and then it was killed again.
    loserkidkarma likes this.