Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #

General Questions

These questions may seem dumb to some people, but I would like to know the answers to some of them. I appreciate the help.

1) I am a student studying web design right now. So far most of the classes are pretty straight forward. This quarter I am taking a class in MYSQL, which I am not too fond of. Just how much MYSQL and database programming does a web designer use and need to know? I always pictured web developers using MYSQL more than a web designer, but I could be wrong.

2) I don't really know how this process is usually handled, but how does a web designer go about delivering the product to the client? I know a lot of the basic stuff when it comes to web design, but I do not know how the client to web designer business side is handled. A lot of the Does the web designer pay for the hosting and domain name for the company to use the site, or does the company do that and the web designer hands them the code when it is all finished?

3) I am graduating pretty soon. I would like to say that I am fully prepared to leap into the web design world, but I just don’t know. I know creating a portfolio is the best way to start out. Do you think a fresh web designer would benefit more from an intern position than actually starting out right away? I would just like to know if it would be a dumb decision to charge a really low cost, to just get a handle on things so I get more experience with customers and how much I am worth.

Sorry for the insanely long post. I appreciate all of the help!

Thanks,
    Notnoshade.
    Last edited by Notnoshade; Sep 10th, 2013 at 11:49 PM.

Member #
    Liked
    2783 times