Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #

How to include outsourcing in a web design contract?

Hi, I'm a graphic designer who wants to want to be a freelance web designer. However, for now I want to outsource a web developer to code the websites properly. I'm not sure how to write in the contract between me and the client that I will be outsourcing the coding. Would it be something like,

"During the design process, I Alex Jones at (Alex J Design) may employ the services of a web developer of my choice to code for the website. Once the final design for each page of the website has been signed off by you (the client name), I Alex Jones at (Alex J Design) will have the website coded properly by the web developer. Should the web developer fail to meet deadlines or fail to code the website properly, I Alex Jones at (Alex J Design) will be responsible to you (the client). I will pay you 10% of the quoted total cost of the website for each week of delay."

This section will also mention the browsers the web developer will code for and the languages he/she will use, but for this topic I've left that out.

Really, I have no idea what happens or how much I should refund if the chosen web developer doesn't meet the deadlines or doesn't code any part of the website properly.

I live in London, but wherever you live, I would greatly appreciate your advice.

Perhaps, anyone who outsources themselves could post a sample of what they have in their contract.

Thanks,

Alex

Member #
    Liked
    2783 times
    Wait...you're a designer and you want a developer to code it? That's a little confusing, dude.