Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By mlseim

Thread: Newbie here...............need advice for building a "forum website"

Member #

Newbie here...............need advice for building a "forum website"

Guys, Please suggest me how and using what one can build a forum website, something like this.
    Is there any programming involved in building this and what are the steps required to be followed, like softwares etc. Please suggest.
    This website is basically being designed for "forum" for engineering discussions.
    Please advice.
    Thanks in advance.

Member #
    Liked
    760 times
    Forum software/scripts are already done ... you can use an existing system and not have to start from scratch.

vBulletin, phpBB, Simple Machines, Vanilla Forums, etc

To build your own from scratch will take thousands of steps.

This site: All Categories - electric imp Forums
    Is a technical forum about a new Cloud-Based WiFi Controller. I think they use Vanilla Forums: Vanilla Forums - Community Forums Software - Vanilla Forums

Decide whether you want to try something free, or purchase software like this forum you are now on (vBulletin).
    bleau canon likes this.

Member #
    Liked
    197 times
    We installed and started setting up three forums today for clients using SMF (Simple Machine Forums).

If you're hosting company has cpanel and Softaculous in cpanel then you can take a look at the forums in Softaculous. Could be one in there that will fit your needs with demo's, reviews and easy installation and usually free.

Member #
    Liked
    2784 times