Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By mlseim

Thread: When client wants to take over control of their site

Member #

When client wants to take over control of their site

Hello,
    I am new to the forum and tried to find information by searching for this topic, but couldn't find exactly what I need to know. I have been designing sites for nearly 15 years. Until today I have never had this issue arise and I need to know what other designers have to offer as advice and what their experiences have been.

I have a client whose site I built two years ago for his new business. He recently sold his business and the new owner now wants to take over complete control of the site I designed. My primary question is how do I release the control to this person, and should I consider my artistic design content as my own work, removing everything and leaving the new owner with the domain name to start designing their new site?

I have no problem releasing the site to this person, and no longer having it in my portfolio or under my control. What I do mind is having a client who now wants complete access to start making changes to the site I created, and even expecting me to make some changes now before she takes over complete control.

What do you suggest? What is the protocol for walking away from a site you designed, and the artistic content of it?

Thank you in advance.

Member #
    Liked
    760 times
    You built your site for a client. You don't own the site, your client does.

There is no protocol. Your client, as well as the new owner, should already have all the webhost account information, they should have the domain account information, and they should have a zipped backup copy of the entire website. Those things should already exist.